Digging Deeper

Unearthing the surpassing riches of Christ

Trials Must and Will Befall–Considering the Purpose of Trials

William Cowper wrote a powerful hymn about suffering and trials in the 1770’s consider its words as you face the trials of life.  There is a purpose in them.  Cowper knew them well as he struggled with great depression through his life.  His music was his fight for joy as the darkness at times became overwhelming.

’Tis my happiness below
Not to live without the cross;
But the Savior’s pow’r to know
Sanctifying every loss.

Trials must and will befall;
But with humble faith to see
Love inscribed upon them all—
This is happiness to me.

Did I meet no trials here,
No chastisement by the way,
Might I not with reason fear
I should prove a castaway?

Trials make the promise sweet;
Trials give new life to prayer;
Bring me to my Savior’s feet,
Lay me low and keep me there.

Source: http://www.hymnal.net/hymn.php/h/625#ixzz2I4dfNhBw

See here for a short introduction to the song: http://homeschoolblogger.com/hymnstudies/709083/

January 15, 2013 - Posted by | Christian Hedonism, Hymn, Music, Suffering, Trials

1 Comment »

  1. […] Trials Must and Will Befall – Considering the Purpose of Trials (seanwhitenack.wordpress.com) […]

    Pingback by Sometimes a Light Surprises – Believer's Brain | February 4, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

